Signed by over 550 concerned citizens and organisations, the statement has been endorsed, among others, by:

Rights based and civil society groups: People's Union for Civil Liberties, Jharkhand Janadhikar Mahasabha, Saheli Women's Resource Centre, Hazrat e Zindagi Mamuli, BAGAICHA, Unity in Compassion, National Alliance of People's Movements, National Federation of Indian Women, Indian Christian Women's Movement, Human Rights Forum, Women against Sexual Violence and State Repression, Forum Against Oppression of Women, ANHAD, Feminists in Resistance, Karnataka Janashakti,Coordination of Democratic Rights Organisation, People's Union for Democratic Rights, Rashtriya Dharmnirpekshta Andolan Satara Maharashtra India, Bebaak Collective, Vimochana, Bhagat Singh Ambedkar Students Organisation, All India Krantikari Kisan Sabha(AIKKS), HAQ: Centre for Child Rights, Vimochana, Ananya Mahila Okkutta, Association for Democratic Rights Punjab, Prajaswamika Rachayitrula Vedika, International Federation of Trade Unions, Campaign Against Fabricated Cases, Swaraj Abhiyan, Justice Coalition of Religious - West India, All India Queer Association, Progressive Farmers Forum, Samajwadi Jan Parishad, Federation of Catholic Associations of Delhi NCR, India Justice Project, All India Union of Forest Working People, All India Democratic Women's Association, Nari Samata Manch

Eminent signatories include:

Parliamentarians: Manoj Kumar Jha, MP of Rajya Sabha for Bihar

Retired bureaucrats and police officers: Meena Gupta(Civil Servant), P Gangte(IPS), Meeran Borwankar(Police officer).

Activists: Kavita Srivastava, Meera Sanghamitra, Brinda Adige, Cedric Prakash, PM Tony, Bishwapriya Kanungo, Holiram Terang, Mariam Dhawale, Maimoona Mollah, Khalida Parveen, Dr Ajita Rao, Hasina Khan, Shabnam Hashmi, Varalaxmi, Sagari Ramdas, Kavita Krishnan, Minakshi Singh, Corinne Kumar, V. Saldanha, Ammu Abraham, Ram Punyani, Jagmohan Singh, Lalita Ramdas, Raghavendra Prasad, Kaneez Fathima, Joseph Mathai, Paramjeet Singh, Irfan Engineer, Ashoka Choudhary, Deepika Tandon, Siraj Dutta, Chayanika Shah, Anuradha Kapoor, Madhu Bhushan.

Academics: Rosemary Dzuvichu, Monisha Behal, N Haokip, Hoineilhing Sitlhou, Esther Ngaihte, Kham Khan Suan Hausing, Uma Chakravarti, Rooprekha Verma, Maroona Murmu, Manoranjan Mohanty, Rita Manchanda, Kalyani Menon Sen, Kalpana Kannabiran, Nandini Sundar, Ritu Dewan, Padmaja Shaw, Papori Bora, Amit Bhaduri, Jagdeep Chhokar, Rama Melkote, Mohan Rao, Vineeta Bal, Sadhna Arya, Lilika Zhimomi, Riaz Ahmed, Aditya Nigam, Nandita Narrain, Gabriele Dietrich, Sujato Bhadra, Veena Naregal, Lata Singh, Angana Chatterji, Gauhar Raza, Sujata Patel, Aditya Nigam.

Journalists, filmmakers and writers: Anand Patwardhan, John Dayal, Cynthia Stephen, Pamela Philipose, Rajashri Dasgupta, Ranjana Padhi, Sujata Madhok, Sonal Kellogg, Teena Gill, Shuddhabrata Sengupta.

Lawyers: Shalini Gera, Yusuf Muchhala, Sumita Hazarika, Pyoli Swatija, Isha Khandelwal, Shalu Nigam, Lara Jesani